Re-encrypting a Confidencial-protected file or file bundle and changing who can see them
These instructions show you how to change the contents of a Confidencial-protected (.c11) file (and who can see those contents). The process amounts to decrypting the file(s) or folder(s), making any desired changes to the decrypted content, and encrypting the decrypted content for a new group of recipients. In an upcoming version of Confidencial, you will be able to change who can see the contents of a Confidencial-protected file without decrypting and re-encrypting.
- Decrypt the .c11 file for which you want to change the content or viewership in either the desktop app or web app
Viewership: Who can see the contents of a Confidencial-protected file or folder
- Make any desired changes to the unencrypted contents of the .c11 file
- Encrypt the just-decrypted file(s) or folder(s) in either the desktop app or web app, selecting the new group of recipients that you want to be able to see the contents
This completes editing the content of a protected file and re-encrypting the protected file for a new group of recipients
After you have completed this process, it is strongly recommended that you permanently remove (delete + empty trash) the decrypted files that were produced in Step 1